Farm Life Blessing #1

Guest writer: Doug Sattazahn

When I signed on for this whole blog thing, I thought I’d be writing about anything I wanted.  I had a couple great ideas for a couple posts and then my wife informed me there was a “farm blessings” theme to this blog (much to my chagrin).  You’re probably saying “suck it up, and no one is stopping you from creating your own blog anyway.”  True, but using the platform of Raechel’s established blog will get a lot more traffic than my own start-up blog.  However, I will conform as desired and give you a small sample of what I’m thankful for on the farm.

In light of Hurricane Sandy’s recent jaunt across Pennsylvania, I am thankful for modern conveniences like electricity (which some of my neighbors are still without as of this writing).  Sure we have a generator, but having animals at multiple places means moving it around and delaying feeding at the other farm.  There’s nothing like the chorus of hungry, thirsty heifers yelling at you while the rain and wind beat down and you trudge through the mud to get feed mixed.  Thankfully, we were only “off the grid” for a day or so.  Having the power back on the farm is something I am definitely thankful for, as well as all the animals that depend on it.

Thanks to Holly Spangler for the inspiration to blog for 30 days in November. Check out her 30 Days on a Prairie Farm.

This entry was posted in agriculture, Farm Life Blessings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farm Life Blessing #1

  1. Those hungry, thirsty, complaining heifers are lucky that farmers like you–like most farmers– care about their animals so much that weather, storms, hurricanes or whatever happens does not prevent you from providing for their needs. Perhaps there is a lesson to learn about the importance of what you do by looking at the consequences of you not doing your job, versus others not doing theirs. I’m thinking that if you took two days off for the hurricane to pass there would be reporters on your doorstep seeking an interview about animal cruelty charges, and the story might even go national. But the federal government in DC did indeed shut down for those two days of the hurricane–certainly a much larger operation than yours– and I haven’t heard a peep about people who missed a call from the EPA or ICE. Makes one wonder which operation is more important, at least on a day-to-day basis. I know who the heifers would choose.

  2. Pingback: Farm Life Blessing #30 | gobeyondthebarn

Leave a Reply

