Unworthy Priorities

Unfortunately, blogging has fallen at the bottom of my to-do list in recent weeks. I could make up a million excuses about why that has happened, but the bottom-line is that I haven’t made it a priority, and I’m not proud of that.

As I was dwelling about what I would write about next, it seemed to be staring at me right in the face. Priorities. How and why do we choose the priorities in life that we do?

Some priorities are obvious –spending time with family and friends gives us fulfillment in our lives and working supplies us with money, allowing us to put food on our tables. But some items that we classify as priorities probably shouldn’t be. Do I really need to check my email every 10 minutes and look at Facebook incessantly for my friends’ latest status updates? Probably not. Yet I continuously prioritize those “unworthy priorities” above other things, like writing blog posts to encourage others to speak up for what they believe in.

Ask me (and probably 99.9% of other people in this world) why I can’t get everything done that I want to, and the answer most certainly is, “There aren’t enough hours in a day.” Yes, time is a valuable resource, but I believe that most of us simply need to be more efficient about what we do and how we accomplish those items. Sometimes it is worth taking the extra five minutes to put together a plan or a process, helping us to work smarter and not necessarily harder.

All of us struggle with priorities, but we can’t make the “unworthy priorities” rise above others that may truly make a difference. If providing a solid voice for agriculture is important to us, it shouldn’t just be when we have “time.” It should be a priority that we build into our daily lives and soon enough, our priority no longer needs to planned. It will just happen.

“Action expresses priorities.” – Mahatma Gandhi

This entry was posted in agriculture, Agvocate, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unworthy Priorities

  1. Scott Owens says:

    Very well written. Seems there is a grid a person can use that compares urgencies and priorities in life. If you have an issue with both a high urgency and a high priority, do it! On the other hand if an issue is a low priority and a low urgency, you need to question if it should be removed from your list altogether.

Leave a Reply

