Farm Life Blessing #14

“I believe in the future of agriculture, with a faith born not of words but of deeds – achievements won by the present and past generations of agriculturists; in the promise of better days through better ways, even as the better things we now enjoy have come to us from the struggles of former years.”

Does this sound familiar to you? I have to admit – I remembered the first few lines, but I don’t think I can recite the entire FFA Creed anymore as I once knew.

It’s hard to fully understand the impact that youth agricultural programs (such as FFA, 4-H, Jr. Holstein and the dairy princess program) have had on my life. Sure, it’s easy to credit things like dairy judging which helped me in my decision-making and communication skills and 4-H in building leadership skills, but the impact of these programs on my life even goes beyond that.

When other teens were playing the latest video game or hanging out at the mall, I was working on my agricultural projects, updating record books or visiting an elementary school as dairy princess. While these tasks lacked a lot of glamour (except for when I was wearing my dairy princess tiara, of course), I am grateful for everything that I learned and the opportunities that they afforded me.

Read other Farm Life Blessings:

Thanks to Holly Spangler for the inspiration to blog for 30 days in November. Check out her 30 Days on a Prairie Farm

This entry was posted in agriculture, Farm Life Blessings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farm Life Blessing #14

  1. Pingback: Farm Life Blessing #30 | gobeyondthebarn

Leave a Reply

