Farm Life Blessing #21

Guest writer: Doug Sattazahn

Good advice in farming is hard to come by these days. It seems like prices go the opposite direction that many “experts” predict them to go.  There are many decisions to be made on the fly that no one can really tell you the best choice.  Nevertheless, I got some good advice a few years ago that agriculture was the place for me, and despite the uncertainty of farming, that advice has proven very true.

Around 9th grade, I wasn’t too optimistic about farming.  The long hours and hard work looked like rather bleak prospects to me.  However, my high school agriculture teacher came out one summer day and changed my mind.  He was just there to sign fair entries, but as we walked by the alternating rows of corn and alfalfa, he seemed to sense my apprehensions about farming.  He made me realize what an opportunity I had here with our rich soil and a family with a farming tradition.  The quote he left me with was “Sattazahn, I think you’ll realize you like this more than you think you do.”  After that advice, I knew farming is where I wanted to be.

Read other Farm Life Blessings:

Thanks to Holly Spangler for the inspiration to blog for 30 days in November. Check out her 30 Days on a Prairie Farm

This entry was posted in agriculture, Farm Life Blessings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farm Life Blessing #21

  1. Pingback: Farm Life Blessing #30 | gobeyondthebarn

Leave a Reply

