A Year of Blogging in Review

It’s hard to believe that it has been just over a year since I took the giant leap into the world of blogging. Actually, it wasn’t really a big leap. It was more like a baby step, when I finally started writing down some of the thoughts that I’ve always had.

However, I never expected to achieve the results that I have had in the last 373 days. My blog has had nearly 5,800 views, with the highest 24-hour period being 490 views! Never in my wildest dreams did I think that many people cared what I had to say. Blogging has really opened my eyes to the importance of telling our story in agriculture and the impact that I can personally have.

 I have learned a few things along the way:

  • Blogging is everywhere –While I certainly don’t introduce myself as a blogger to strangers in the first 30 seconds, it’s interesting how often it comes up, and I find out that they blog, too! I’ve met bloggers who are young, old and every age in between. Don’t underestimate the magnitude of blogging.
  • Less is more –A good blog post doesn’t need to be a novel. In fact, I think that some of my best posts have been shorter.
  • Set goals – I started off great, setting goals for how many posts and views that I wanted to have each month. I was a bit lax over summertime, but definitely my 30 days of blogging in November was a lofty goal that felt good to achieve.
  • Don’t underestimate the importance of tags – Who would’ve thought that someone searching for “raw milk” on Google would land on my blog? Certainly not me, but that was one of the most frequent Google search phrases for people that found my blog. More importantly, after these people read that post they hopefully had a different outlook on raw milk.
  • Enlist the help of others – I am so glad that I roped my husband in joining me for 30 days of blogging. He even admits that he enjoyed it. Look for more great posts from Doug in 2013.

Most of all, blogging has been very personally fulfilling. Even if you use the classic excuse, “I don’t have time,” I urge you to reconsider your priorities. If it is important to you, you will make time no matter how busy you are.

Bring on another great year of blogging in 2013!

This entry was posted in agriculture, Agvocate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year of Blogging in Review

  1. Suzanne says:

    Looking forward to reading your blog in 2013 and learning more about you!

Leave a Reply

